My Top 10 Anime Male Characters of 2011

I’m pretty late . . . but in response to Nopy’s Top 10 Anime Girls of 2011, I have decided to make my own top ten list.  Except, in this list I have chosen my favorite anime male characters of 2011. I haven’t covered many anime series this past year, but I hope you find a liking to any of the fallowing series based on my top male picks in case you aren’t already familiar with them.

10. Ouma, Shu from Guilty Crown

I am not as fond of his personality as I am with his character design. I love the way he looks. Pretty shallow of me? Maybe. He’s cool and all, you know, willing to save lives. But I just think he LOOKS even cooler. Especially when his game face is on and is about to extract someone’s void because when he does, his eyes turn red and he becomes a completely different person. A much more confident, kick ass, Ouma, Shu. Or it could be that I just like his powers and the yellow streaks in his hair. All I can say, is that Shu is by far my favorite male character in Guilty Crown . . to look at. ;)

9. Niwa, Makoto from Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko

It wasn’t my favorite anime, but I liked the main protagonist. He didn’t turn out to be a complete jerk or hid the fact that he was related to Erio. He was very brotherly, the way he always took care of her. Plus, he doesn’t look that bad either.

8. Hasegawa, Kodaka from Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai
 

Another brotherly type, but a little more experienced than Niwa – having a little sister himself. Don’t be fooled by his looks. His dyed-looking hair isn’t the trademark of a rebel. If I could have an older brother, I’d want an older brother like him, I guess. One who watches out for me, is there for me, and is patient with my weaboo characteristics. But most importantly . . one who cooks for me~! ^0^

7. Yadomi, Jinta from Ano Hi Mita Hana no Namae wo Bokutachi wa Mada Shiranai
 

Even Yadomi can be labeled brotherly [I must really want an older brother XD], although his feelings towards Menma were more than just that. He was willing to marry her. His situation is rather heartbreaking, yet very heartwarming. How can I not love him? <3

6. Asaba, Yuuta from Kimi to Boku
 

Yuta is very underrated. He is frequently out shined by his younger brother Yuki. That’s probably why he’s one of my favorites. I find him more mysterious. My affection towards him grew after his date with that girl which turned out to be one of my favorite episodes. I also love that he’s a tsundere, like most of the males in this list. But if I had to choose between a twin, it’d be the one who is not willing to stand out because that’s actually what would make him stand out to me.

5. Okumura, Rin from Ao no Exorcist
 
Mr. Okumura was my first favorite. I find him very attractive – demon looking and all. He has the sweetest smile, even though that’s not the case in this pic – his tsundere face is pretty cute too. Apart from his smile, I adore his laugh. It’s so cute and innocent. And am I the only one who thinks he’s a total hottie when he pins up his hair?! (Ehem) Other than that, he is a pretty heroic character . . . one of those -I don’t care about my own well being as long as I can protect my friends- attitude. It’s very hard for me to acknowledge him as Yukio’s older brother, though.
 
4. Kawachi, Daikichi from Usagi Drop
 

Obviously, he’d be on this list. He went out of his way to take Rin into his home when she needed it. I admire that about him. It was very precious to see his dere attitude as time passed with his new daughter. I certainly wouldn’t hate the guy who would take me in under those circumstances.

3. Tsukahara, Kaname from Kimi to Boku
 

I am a big megane fan. Cute boys with glasses . . . Kaname is too cute and funny. I don’t know how many times he’s smacked his friends throughout the series. He definitely keeps his friends on check. I wouldn’t mind a boyfriend who is as tsun as he is. I don’t think I’d like a guy who is too sweet. His smile is very sweet though. I really enjoyed the anime. Plus, he was never a bore to watch. There couldn’t have been a better class representative. I just wish I was one of them crushes of his. :(

2. Takano, Masamune from Sekaiichi Hatsukoi
 

I think the perfect word to describe Takano would be “smexy.” Believe it or not, here’s another megane. He’s not wearing his glasses in this pic, though. He’s also gay, in case you didn’t know – which makes me want him even more, sigh. And since I don’t stand a chance, I settled with admiring his qualities as a man.  He’s pretty straight forward, clever and an excellent lover. Wait, what do I know? I do know that he’s wanted by more than one man and a few woman in the anime, so there’s that. But why are you with Onodera?! After all the pain he put you through! Argh!

1. Kazehaya, Shouta from Kimi ni Todoke 2nd Season

Last, but not least . . . Kazehaya-kun. I’m not sure why he’s my favorite. I think it has a lot to do with the essence he gives off in the anime. I love shoujo anime’s. I love shoujo characters. Shoujo’s have all that good stuff. The sparkles . . . the bubbles . . . and, the drama. Throughout the series he basically builds up for that moment, that moment when he finally confesses his feelings to Sawako and vice versa. But he goes through all these obstacles on the way there, it’s frustrating. Although, it’s throughout the journey that his character develops. That’s when I find how short tempered, selfish, and insecure he is. Not to mention what a total cry baby he was as a kid. Still, I can’t help but fall for these princely type characters because once that moment comes when they hug the girl or share a kiss, my heart can’t help but go doki doki. I believe every girl has fantasized about a guy like Kazehaya to be her knight in shining armor.

15 thoughts on “My Top 10 Anime Male Characters of 2011

  1. nuuu!!! Id totally put Kazehaya as #10 and the rest up a notch. sigh, he was so insecure and slow if i was in the show id take Sawako for myself *eveil look in eyes*

  2. Looks like you got around to writing this post :)

    Personally, I would've put Kodaka a bit higher, but I definitely agree with you on Kazehaya. He's one of those people that even guys will look up to.

  3. @Rei
    Glad you liked it! Yea, I was thinking of going deeper with Gai instead of Shu. And, I liked Ryu too. Guess I was contemplating on choosing at least one guy for each anime.

  4. Is the main character of Guilty Crown really that unlikeable? I watched the first episode online, and it was pretty good. A lot of people complain that he's not a likable character at all though. I want to watch the whole series though, because it looks pretty :p

  5. He reminds me a lot of Tomoya from Clannad. I don't think he's unlikable but he's pretty dull. And there is more to why most people don't like him. I really enjoyed that first episode as well, but I won't spoil anything for you :P

  6. Thank you. I hate it when people openly spoil things without concern :p Youtube is the worst if you're trying to avoid spoilers. I actually have to put the show on hold for now because I was watching it on my computer and the sites I find to watch anime almost always run slow, particularly if I watch the English sub, then the captions never keep up (want to help me out and give me a sight to watch it on? haha). I also am just not a fan of watching stuff online. I would be interested in watching the rest of it one of these days…

  7. Have not seen this one before. Surprising because I've been to so many. Thanks. I put it in my favorites. Might have to use it soon because netflix removed fullmetal alchemist. >__< and when I have like five episodes left too...Well, I'm pretty sure it's at my library so I should be alright.

  8. omg I'm stupid. Hulu IS streaming Guilty Crown >___< Well now there's no reason to put off watching it. Hulu is perfect for streaming :) Despite the ads. And cool I'll favorite those other sites too

  9. Kya! You think so too? Kaname is sooooo cute! I adore him <3333 I just don't get why no girls on the show go for him. -w- Now that I think about it, a lot of the dark-haired megane hotties don't get enough attention from girls. Ah, but they're so cute and tsundere. I always fall for them xD.

Leave a Reply

