Spring 2012 Anime Season Watchlist

Her name is Ayumu . . .

You fell for it, didn’t you? Well, that’s okay. He does make a pretty girl. If you want to see more of him this upcoming season, you’re gonna have to add Kore wa Zombie Desu ka? of the Dead to your watchlist – that is, if you’ve already seen the first season. Scroll down to check out the Visual Guide and Anime Listing as well as my brief impressions on the series I plan to cover this Spring!

Visual Guide and Anime Listing via moetron.
 
Saint Seiya Omega 
Studio: Toei Animation
Network: TV Asahi

Air Date: 04/01 @6:30

Summary: Koga is a 13-year old boy who assumed the role of the Saint of the Pegasus constellation. His undefeatable spirit and rebellious nature are strong, as is his single-minded determination. Saori Kido (the goddess Athena) also appears as the protector of peace and all living things – and the woman who raised Koga as a parent. Mars kidnaps Athena to establish a new world order, and Koga stands up against Mars – via ANN.

Impressions: Being a big fan of the Saint Seiya franchise, there was no way I was going to pass this up. Just take a look at the (good looking) staff! A handful were involved with Casshern Sins – a rather unorthodox anime I thoroughly enjoyed and judging from its mysterious atmosphere, I anticipate a similar tone for this series. Not only that, but the animation itself appeals more to an audience who were already fans of the original series(points to self) because, in contrast with Saint Seiya: The Lost Canvas, Omega’s character designs seem to stick to its original roots. Can’t complain there!

Kore wa Zombie Desu ka? of the Dead
Studio: Studio Deen
Network: Tokyo MX

Air Date: 04/2012 @ – – : – –

Summary: The sequel to Kore wa Zombie Desu ka? In the story, a normal high school boy named Ayumu Aikawa gets killed during a spate of mysterious serial killings. However, Ayumu is resurrected as a zombie by a necromancer girl named “Yu”(Eucliwood Hellscythe), who Ayumu had just met before dying. Ayumu then accidentally deprives the magical girl Haruna of her powers, so she demands that Ayumu take her place in fighting her enemy Megalo – via ANN.

Impressions: Kore wa Zombie Desu ka? was recommended to me by a friend. I eventually got around to it right after hearing the news about the sequel. I figured the first season must have been good in order for there to be a second season. A zombie in a mahou shoujo get up was strangely funny. The sequel looks more ecchi but whatever – Hellscythe-domo is too cool to pass up! She’s like another Yuki Nagoto!

Kimi to Boku. 2 
Studio: J.C. Staff
Network: TV Tokyo

Air Date: 04/2012 @ – – : – –

Summary: The sequel to Kimi to Boku. The story revolves around four teens – the good looking twins Yuuta and Yuuki Asaba, the effeminate Shun Matsuoka, and the class head Kaname Tsukahara – who have known each other since early childhood. While they are not necessarily good or bad friends, they continue to hang out well into high school. The half-Japanese transfer student Chizuru Tachibana joins the circle of friends in this comedy about the everyday life of adolescence – via MAL.

Impressions: Must watch! The group of high school friends that managed to capture the hearts of many girls, are back! Must tame my fujoshi instincts! It would be nice to watch something I know I’m going to enjoy this season. Plus, I am very looking forward to seeing that romance between Chizuru and Mary blossom (If you’re a guy reading this, you probably have no idea what I’m talking about).

Hyouka
Studio: Kyoto Animation
Network: Chiba TV

Air Date: 04/2012 @ – – : – –

Summary: Oreki, Houtarou is a high school boy who always acts passively. One day, he enters “Koten Bu (Classic Literature Club)” as recommended by his elder sister. There he meets Chitanda Eru, Fukube Satoshi, and Ibara Mayaka. Chitanda is a calm beautiful girl but she turns into an embodiment of curiosity once she says, “I’m interested in it (Watashi, Kininarimasu).” Fukube is a smiling boy with a fantastic memory, he never deduces anything on his own. Ibara is a short girl and is strict with others and herself. She loves Fukube, but he always dodges her approaches. They begin to investigate a case that occurred 33 years ago. Hints of the mystery are buried in an old collection of works of the former members of Koten Club – a collection titled “Hyouka” – via MAL.

Impressions: Kyoto Animation! The studio that brought us K-On!, Clannad, Lucky Star, Haruhi, and Nichijou. Need I say more? When it comes to moe, KyoAni is the studio to go to. However, the story claims to be a mystery. I don’t like mystery very much and I certainly did not enjoy Haruhi’s mystery, but I’m an M! – so what do I care? I also haven”t seen this many boys in the main cast since Haruhi, it’s almost as if . . . wait. Is this another Haruhi? *gasp*

Other series I may or may not cover: 

Because Spring is such a busy season for me (school and such) I will have to cut back on my anime list this season – unfortunately. This is just a list of other series I am interested in, but will have to contemplate my final decision after watching a few episodes. :(

Tsuritama: The animation and vibrant colors is what keeps me interested.
Natsuiro Kiseki: An original anime featuring four members of SPHERE as seiyuu and that’s as far as the summary goes. Judging from the preview it looks like it will take a slice of life approach with no means of deep story telling or drama – maybe some supernatural occasions? It reminds me of K-On! which fallows a group of high school friends and their light music club as an excuse for spending time together – which is fine with me. :)
Sankarea: Another zombie theme. Cool.
Accel World: The story revolves around a young boy with an inferiority complex who gets sucked into a medieval-like virtual world – with high tech looking mecha! :O
Sakamichi no Apollon: A coming of age story with . . . Jazz music? Hmm . . .
Acchi Kocchi: The title is so cute, the animation looks so cute . . . I don’t know.

Medaka Box: Interestingly enough, the manga has a lot to do with the hype of this series. I haven’t read the manga but I might end up taking a peek at it before diving into the anime. The ecchi might have me walk away from it, though. With #korezon being the exception, I do not plan on watching another ecchi unless it is insanely funny!

I ended up listing more titles than I thought. I wouldn’t be surprised if I end up watching all of them. No! I must resist! >.<

And you? What anime are you watching this Spring?

Leave a Reply

