A Batch of First Impressions: Spring 2012 – Part 2

Part 2 is here! I hate doing things in parts, but my stupid tag thingy only allows so and so tags in each post. Ay ay ay . . .

Anyway, here is the rest of the batch of cookies my super subjective impressions~ enjoy.

Once again, in alphabetical order: [Sakamichi no Apollon, Shining Hearts, Tasogare Otome x Amnesia, Tsuritama, Uchuu Kyoudai, Upotte!!, Zetman]. Click HERE for Part 1! :)

Sakamichi no Apollon:
Episodes in: 3

Why is it that I always feel like crying after every episode? It must be the ED. I am so glad I picked up this series. It really is a beautiful slice of life with beautiful music and beautiful animation. The story revolves around three young teenagers as they discover first love and friendship – which is all wonderfully portrayed. If you are not watching this, I do hope you start because you are missing out. WATCH IT NOUU!!

Shining Hearts – Shiawase no Pan:
Episodes in: 1
 
Mmm . . . pan. So this is an anime about bread, seriously. No, just kidding. It centers around bread and it is obviously the real star of the show, but some people may disagree and argue that the anime is about a bishie named Rick and his dull female harem. The story derives from a visual novel, but the best thing about the anime is the bread. So if you like pan, there is a good chance that you might like Shining Hearts. Unfortunately, it is not enough to keep me interested. ~Dropped.
 
Tasogare Otome x Amnesia:
Episodes in: 3
 

After watching the first episode of Dusk Maiden of Amnesia, I was reeled in by its animation and comedic effects. Not to mention its eargasms. However, there seems to be no signs of any in-depth mystery so far besides the mystery behind Yuuko’s death. At times, I do find it a bit boring and there hasn’t been enough Momoe time(the funniest character of the series!). But it’s only been 3 episodes so I’m not worried about dropping it any time soon.

Tsuritama:
Episodes in: 3
 
Tsuritama is about a group of random friends . . . an alien, a native prince, a duck lover, and a shy french kid that become close through fishing. This anime is dope. The animation is so fun and the characters are really wacky and awesome. Especially that duck guy who is actually 25 years old even though he is attending highschool. Plus, he is voiced by Tomokazu Sugita – one of my all time favorite seiyuus! ~Definitely watching.
 
Uchuu Kyoudai:
Episodes in: 4
 

Space Brothers is amazing! Who knew that an anime about brothers and space could be this good! The realism between Mutta and Hibito’s relationship is very convincing. Despite their love for each other, they are rivals and that is portrayed through many flashbacks in the series. I can’t say I can relate to their rivalry right now because I have a younger brother who is six years younger than myself, so our years apart create this distance. However there were times when I would compete with him over games or the remote control, so in those ways I can definitely relate. Who knows? There may come a day when my lil bro surpasses me in the future. Nah! That’ll never happen. :P

Upotte!!:
Episodes in: 1
 

Yes, they’re guns. Upotte!! is about a group of girls who are actually guns. How cool is that! Although, it is a little too ecchi for my taste. Well, how ecchi can a gun get really? I who nosebleeds at highly dangerous weapons did not enjoy the gunfire. Maybe if the protagonists were male? ~Dropped.

Zetman:
Episodes in: 4
 

I was about to drop this series, but I’m glad I didn’t. It has a lot of action and drama which is why the plot seemed a bit hurried, but it has finally begun to direct its focus to the main problem. Zetman is about a boy named Jin Kanzaki who is ironically very familiar to Jin from the Tekken series for they are both able to transform into a more powerful being. :O It is an anime that basically revolves around monsters and . . . more monsters! So if you like seeing epic monster battles, this is the anime for you.

And that’s the end of my first impressions! ヽ(´ー`)人(´∇`)人(`Д´)ノ Very late impressions(sumimasen!), but I shall be posting various episodics from now on, and a few other surprises so look forward to them~!

Leave a Reply

