12 Days of Anime Day 03: The Slice of Life of Haruhi Suzumiya

Minitokyo


 On the 3rd day of anime, Ulquiorra gave to me . . . 3 melancholies
. . . 2 space bros
. . . and a cute fluffy bunny just for me! 

With only one hour and forty four minutes left to December 17, I decided to quickly develop this post and publish my 3rd day of anime moment. He he, lets see how far I can get. Sorry, it’s been a busy weekend.

SLICE OF LIFE: What is it really? (uggghhh…I should have picked a simpler topic).

One series has really helped me generate and define its definition. Or should I say this atmosphere?

The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya is not an easy series to get into. To boot, it was one of the first series I completed that wasn’t a shounen. But we all know how Americanized shounen storytelling can be, right? And American cartoons is what the whole world is generally used to . . . even Japan. And I don’t know of any other countries that have any more success in animation, besides Japan. If so, please enlighten me. :) But Haruhi Suzumiya is probably my best example, or I should say, the most memorable anime that falls under that category for me. Not only because of the joys and addictions I discovered from a Slice of Life, but also because of the wonderful transitions my tastes in entertainment underwent. Plus, I had really high hopes in Haruhi Suzumiya’s supernatural element which made me stay till the end. You’d think this anime was an awesome, action-packed thriller about time travelers, espers, and robots but NUUOOOO . . .

But that doesn’t make Haruhi Suzumiya any less great. I really liked it. Or, at least, I really learned to like it and appreciate it for what it is. Not because it was a form of storytelling I wasn’t used to. Because it became a unique way of storytelling that made me experience not just a pleasant feeling, an unforgettable one. A feeling that I truly believe can only be experienced through Slice of Life. Because that’s exactly what it is . . . a slice of life. Real life. And with it, carries a wonderful positive notion. Iyashikei, being one of those positive notions.

Iyashikei – Japanese word for “healing.” In my opinion, it is more of a feeling or an atmosphere one gets from an anime or a story. A really addicting feeling. This feeling is what really got me into Slice of Life. To the point where it became a guilty pleasure almost. But you will never experience this feeling unless you give Slice of life a proper chance. Especially since this form of storytelling requires a little more patience from its audience than any other genre. So be patient. I assure you, not only will you gain a little more forbearance, you will gain a little more perception, a little more variety, and a lot more opportunities to enjoy certain things that you normally wouldn’t have before. Relax and enjoy.

Naturally, as an adamant fan, one would already have an idea of what we personally like and dislike, but if never given something the proper chance, how can we know for sure? Those are the people I am reaching towards.

Slice of Life was big for me this year which is why I make this post. So here are a few series that really stood out to me:

  1. Ano Natsu de Matteru
  2. Chihayafuru
  3. Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai!
  4. Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou
  5. Hyouka
  6. K-On! Movie
  7. Kimi to Boku. 2
  8. Natsuiro Kiseki
  9. Natsume Yuujinchou
  10. Sakamichi no Apollon

Check them out if you have the chance. :) Any recommendations? What Slice of Life anime do you enjoy?

Oh and please check out 2DT’s post that I linked to earlier. It is a really good take on a different perspective of Slice of Life. It was just lovely. But man I really hate that guy. His writing is just awesome I hate him! >.<

Leave a Reply

