12 Days of Anime Day 04: Music and Samurai Champloo

Tumblr


 On the 4th day of anime, Ulquiorra gave to me . . . 4 eargasms
. . . 3 melancholies
. . . 2 space bros
. . . and a cute fluffy bunny just for me! 


“I think music in itself is healing. It’s an explosive expression of humanity. It’s something we are all touched by. No matter what culture we’re from, everyone loves music.”
– Billy Joel

Music is one of the leading factors that makes anything visual, highly entertaining. And I think it’s safe to assume that everyone enjoys music in one way or another. Which is why music will always play a memorable aspect throughout our lives. In this case, Samurai Champloo and its music became the most memorable series for me this year.Not only does music help differ Japanese animation from American animation; it reinforces it’s form of storytelling. But that’s coming from your everyday biased fan. ;) Although Kids on the Slope and Guilty Crown also stood out with wonderful soundtracks this year, Samurai Champloo’s soundtrack became my instant favorite – considering I recently finished watching this anime this year as well.

From the stylish OP to that melancholic ED, this anime will make you fall in love with its urban beats. But Samurai Champloo is unique in the way that it doesn’t just have music for the sake of having it. Music really becomes as much a part of the story as the characters are to the plot. It inclines to be Samurai Champloo’s preferred method of expression or, in some cases, it adds to its good random humor.

Just goes to show you how good the English dub is too. ;)

But other than its music, Samurai Champloo is a fantastic adventure series. One that I’m really glad I picked up. And the art OMG. The music just compliments its freestyle form of animation. I mean, what more can you ask of an animation than really good art, a compelling plot, genial characters, and great music?

If you want more on my thoughts about music and anime, check out my post on my Top 10 Anime Background Music.

Leave a Reply

