12 Days of Anime Day 09: Gurren Lagann


 On the 9th day of anime, Ulquiorra gave to me . . . 9 gurren laganns

                                                                                           . . . 8 S&Ms
                                                                                      . . . 7 dragon balls
                                                                                                                   . . . 6 funny deaths                                                                                            . . . 5 MOE GIRLS!!!
                                                                                                      . . . 4 eargasms
. . . 3 melancholies
. . . 2 space bros
. . . and a cute fluffy bunny just for me! 

How do you review something really awesome? This anime is fucken awesome. Go watch it. Yup, that pretty much sums it up. It’s hard to elaborate when all you can think about is how awesome it is, but I’ll do my best.

Here’s a plot summary >> link here.

Earlier this spring, I was in the mood for something great(aren’t we always?) and I ended up watching Gurren Lagann. After reading many good reviews about it, I just needed to find out for myself. And I’m happy to say that I was not disappointed.

Testosterone, inspiration, and EPIC are only a few of the words that come to mind when I think of TTGL. It is the anime that takes “over the top” to the next level and does it right. From the humor, to the characters, to the action . . . everything seems so over exaggerated that it becomes hard not to love it. And taking Raymaru’s words from GTG into consideration, Kamina’s lines are frequently so inspirational that I began to wonder where my balls were the entire time and I’m not even a guy!

Don’t believe in yourself.
Believe in the me who believes in you!

Yeah, stuff like that.

This anime doesn’t just talk the talk, it walks the walk. And its footsteps are not exactly what you’d call subtle.



No doubt that humor plays a big part within the series as well. It was an over the top adventure with a tremendous amount of wit(not really). It was a lot goofier than I expected. And the action was the cherry on top that sealed the deal quite nicely. But you can’t have good action without an epic soundtrack.

Row Row Fight the Power!

The insert battle songs were a positively refreshing take. The OPs and EDs were even more so.If there is one thing you will not leave without after watching this series, it is mental strength. Because a real man never gives up. Not until he’s pierced the heavens!

Believe in yourself.
Not the you that believes in me, nor the me that believes in you.
Believe in the you who believes in yourself!

I feel a lot manlier already. :P

Leave a Reply

