My Top Five Anime Couples~!

In accordance with our annual celebration of love and chocolates, I’d like to share with you my top five anime couples, and hopefully, along the way, you will find something new and interesting to watch. Spoilers will be kept to a minimum. Nothing major. Just a heads up: SPOILER ALERT!

5.) JP x Sonoshee (Redline)
 

Whether it has anything to do with the colorful, yet thrilling atmosphere, or the fact that this movie is what is freshest on my mind right now, I’ll never know. But this relationship was, without a doubt, one of the sweetest portrayals I’ve ever seen! For something so delicate to blossom from a movie so obviously indelicate, within the span of 1 hour and 42 minutes, I was infinitely surprised. Because when I went in, I went in expecting only the intensity from the sounds of burning rubber – not the effects of a burning love. And to my satisfaction, I received both. Because hey, not every love story needs to be entirely mush to prove its worth. Take it from these two funky race car drivers . . . All they need is each other.<3

Similar to Redline: None! This anime is forever unique so you must love it and cherish it and like watch it now!

4.) Usui x Misaki (Kaichou wa Maid-sama!)

On a more traditional note, I turn to Usui and Misaki – your typical shoujo characters . . . your typical seme/uke. One is a maid, the other a “Perverted Space Alien.” One is a boy-hating dictator, the other a shameless sadist. And although their differences possibly outweigh their similarities, their most endearing qualities come to light whenever they’re being true to their own feelings. Opposites attract! And this relationship is full of magnetic tension! But I’d especially recommend it to those who secretly wish to be that damsel in distress or that knight in shining armor. Plus, this love story is pretty big on comedy and it’s what makes this relationship all the more fun!

3.) Kazehaya x Sawako (Kimi ni Todoke)

If I had to describe this couple in one word, it would be: warm, because that’s the feeling I get from this soft romance. The animation has a lot to do with the latter as well, but this pairing in particular is special to me because of their slow and innocent development, which results in some pretty cute angst if I do say so myself. Moreover, the series holds a lovable amount of supporting characters who frequently act as the catalyst to our main protagonists’ relationship, as well as the main source of that slapstick comedy. It’s safe to say they play a significant role in this love story. And because friendship is a constant, recurring theme here, I’m sure you’ll find more than one ship to your liking(Chizuru x Ryu, Kurumi x Pin :P). Coming of age stories don’t get any sweeter than this!

P.S. The manga is ten times better. :)

2.) Makoto x Chiaki (The Girl Who Leapt Through Time)
Pixiv
“Time waits for no one.”
 

As we get closer to my number one spot, the pairings just get all the more bittersweet. I swear I’ve never gotten so emotional over one simple question: Want to go out with me? And if you’ve seen this movie over a million times like I have, you’d know what particular scene I am referring to. In this anime, Konno, Makoto is just your average high school girl with no time whatsoever, until the day she suddenly stumbles in all the time in the world. However, messing with time does have its consequences and just like there is only so much one can do about the weather, there is only so much we can do about our time running out. Nevertheless, this pairing is great for making me believe that love can surpass even time itself.

Similar to The Girl Who Leapt Through Time: Hotarubi no Mori e, Summer Wars

1.) Chihaya x Taichi (Chihayafuru)

“Love is when it isn’t fun to be with that person.
It’s when nothing goes the way you want.
And yet . . . you still want to be with her.” 
 
                                                – Mashima, Taichi
 

It is very rare for me to acknowledge the underdog of a story, let alone, accept him as my bias in a relationship. But it is also very rare for me to see that underdog come across plenty of character development in the first place. Mashima, Taichi is one of those exceptions. As my number one pairing, I can only really hope they be together since Chihayafuru is still an on-going anime and manga series. Although I am currently not following the manga, in the anime, Chihaya is working towards her dreams of becoming the best “karuta” player in Japan, along with her two childhood friends: Taichi and Arata. But who will win her heart? Whatever the outcome, I’ve never experienced such a thrilling display of affection between friends who are crazy about a card game.

Similar to Chihayafuru: Fruits Basket, Kimi ni Todoke

Honorable Mentions:
Hinata x Yui (Angel Beats!)
Sakura x Syaoran (Cardcaptor Sakura)
Nagisa x Tomoya (Clannad)
Kyo x Tohru (Fruits Basket)
Ryu x Chizuru (Kimi ni Todoke)
Ootani x Risa (Lovely Complex)
Onodera x Takano (Sekaiichi Hatsukoi)
Tamaki x Haruhi (Ouran High School Host Club)
Kyon x Haruhi (The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya)
Yamaguchi x Shizuku (Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun!)
Taiga x Ryuuji (Toradora!)
 
Just a list of pairings I particularly favor, but because they didn’t make my top list, they at least deserve a mention.
 
Happy Valentine’s Day!
 
Who do you ship?

 

Leave a Reply

