Single of the Week: "Sakura Kiss" by Chieko Kawabe (Ouran High School Host Club OP)

“Only those with excellent social standing and those from filthy rich families are lucky enough to spend their time here at the elite private school, Ouran Academy. The Ouran Host Club is where the school’s handsomest boys with too much time on their hands entertain young ladies who also have way too much time on their hands. Just think of it as Ouran Academy’s elegant playground for the super rich and beautiful.”

                                                                – Ouran High School Host Club in a nutshell.

For the record, I didn’t memorize all that. But it does sum up the anime quite nicely. Although, I was surprised to witness a room full of girls at Anime Expo who actually did memorize it. Which is probably the reason I made “Sakura Kiss” this week’s “Single of the Week.” Just seeing fangirls breeze through the opening song as well, for three straight episodes, was enough to inflict a lifetime of fear into me. It was also really annoying. But the song stuck, despite my new born fear. I thought I was a fangirl. But, my fangirl experience is just going to have to wait for another time. I promise I will be submitting my AX post soon. I had a blast at this year’s convention. Also, I would like to apologize for my late entry. I cannot be trusted with timely posts.

Sakura Kiss belongs to one of my favorite romantic comedies and one of the first anime series I had ever seen. But when I first started watching anime, I only watched English dubbed anime, so my watch list was limited for a long time. And besides Saint Seiya, Ouran High School Host Club was another series I had known to have an opening theme re-dubbed in English, which was specifically altered for the English release. And, considering the English dub was what I was initially exposed to, I prefer the English version of Sakura Kiss over the original Japanese version. Nevertheless, Sakura Kiss makes a wonderful addition to the numerous amount of openings to a series about a girl and a bunch of cute guys. Not to mention, filthy rich guys. ;)

Leave a Reply

