Spring Anime 2013 [Belated Final Impressions]

Here are my belated final impressions on the series that ended this past Spring 2013. In no particular order: [Hataraku Maou-sama!, Kakumeiki Valvrave, Chihayafuru 2, Oreimo 2, Suisei no Gargantia, and Haiyore! Nyaruko-san W].


Hataraku Maou-sama!:
I really enjoyed this series. It was one of the funnier shows of the season, although, like a lot of people, I thought it had a better first half that lost its momentum about halfway. But by that I am mainly referring to the comedic aspects of the show. Plot-wise, they could have gone with a less generic plot and the main protagonist could have had better character development. But I was mainly in it for the jokes. I could care less about its intangible plot and was more worried about how they delivered their jokes. Which, I’ve gotta say, I didn’t always find entirely funny. Nevertheless, the ending episodes gave indications about a possible second season. If that’s the case, it would gain the time needed to reinforce its plot and add more character development, but only time will tell. [7.6/10] – C

Kakumeiki Valvrave:
This show was the best thing since sliced bread. Well, I wouldn’t call it a masterpiece, but it was pretty freaking awesome! Unlike Code Geass, another mecha series animated by the same studio, it surprised us with the direction it took as a mecha parody and not the traditional route most mecha anime undergo. Which worked out in the end, I guess. Some of my favorite and most prominent aspects of the show were the dialogue and the drama. The dialogue was flashy and the premise was by no means meant to be taken seriously. If anything, turning off your brain for a while would probably be the best way to enjoy this show. So if you’re planning to watch this series, now would be the best time because season 2 is due to air this coming October and it’s going to be epic! [8.8/10] – B+

Chihayafuru 2:
Chihayafuru is great. And I may be repeating myself, but if you haven’t seen this anime, you are missing out. For the most part, Chihayafuru never fails to bring something new to the table, at least when it pertains to introducing a new character. This season showed signs of repetitiveness, which can always be boring, but every episode managed to build up into something inspiring and wonderful, despite its formulaic pattern. This show is far from over and Chihaya’s journey towards becoming the best karuta player in Japan has only just begun! The only question remaining is, will there be a third season? It’s hard to say, considering the manga hasn’t ended and DVD sales aren’t doing very well. But we can always conform with reading the manga. I just want to see Chihaya and Taichi finally end up together and see Arata disappear, or end up with Shinobu. Because lets face it, Chihaya will end up choosing Taichi! And if that means going down with this ship, so be it. [9.5/10] – A

Oreimo 2:
I enjoyed it a lot better than the first season. Never been a big fan of the Oreimo franchise, but this season managed to appeal to my fancy. Of course, that was mainly due to the interactions between the three lead females. Especially Ayase and Kuroneko. Thanks to their wonderful display of character, I was looking forward to every episode every week. Unfortunately, that wasn’t the case for the first couple of weeks. But thankfully, the story managed to improve to my liking(obviously, a lot of fanservice was put under consideration in the storytelling) which left me with a good impression in the end. [8.0/10] – B-

Oreimo 2 hasn’t technically finished and the three final episodes will air August 18. I don’t know why the hiatus, but okay. Here’s a trailer.

Suisei no Gargantia:
Gargantia on the Verdurous Planet started off being one of my favorites of the season. It had beautiful production values, an interesting premise, and colorful characters. But once the plot began to unfold, there was a significant lack of focus and direction that didn’t leave me on an entirely good note. And that, was pretty disappointing. [7.5/10] – C

On a better note, Chamber kicks ass! :) The ONA shorts are really cute. And, two OVAs were released along with the DVD.

10/10/13 – Suisei no Gargantia was announced that it will get a sequel.

Haiyore! Nyaruko-san W:
The first season was funny. The second season got old, really fast. It started off with good spirits, but after a while, it began to lose the appeal that seemed very present in the first season. I couldn’t stay focused on account that I began to find it boring and it made me want to go to sleep. The only thing that got me through this anime was Kuuko being adorable. :3 But I don’t think I could get through a 3rd season. [6.7/10] – D+

That’s it for my final impressions. Hope you had a more enjoyable experience than I did with a lot of these shows. What were your thoughts on the anime of this past Spring 2013?

Leave a Reply

