Cely_belly’s Second Take on Fantasy Anime League [FAL]

I decided to hop on the bandwagon once again. Unfortunately, I don’t appear to have the same luck I did the last time I participated, in Fall 2012. At least last time I managed to make it to the top 20(11th place). This time, top 200’s. I think my ranking is mainly due to the numerous amount of sequels I decided to include in my team, this season. Win or lose, it’s a fun experiment to partake, so I’d like to update you guys on something I’ve been doing and take the time to promote the tournament as well.

If you haven’t heard of the league, it is a tournament hosted by MAL that runs on the same basic principles as Fantasy Sports. The tournament began in 2007 with a mere 15 players. Now it appears to be gaining recognition across the anime community, with this latest tournament hosting a little over 350 players. That’s 120 more than the last tournament!

I first heard about the league last year, via a post by 5camp of The Cart Driver. It sounded really fun at the time and, with luck, I managed to make it to the top 20. But, for some reason, my luck decided to decrease times 100 this year. I guess that’s my fault. I should have known better than to add so many sequels to my team. I mean, not everyone watched the first season Cely! Not everyone likes Kakumeiki Valvrave! Which, honestly, doesn’t make any sense in my mind. Why doesn’t everyone like Kakumeiki Valvrave??? Lol. Anyway, I still have time to concoct my ultimate strategy that will have me climbing the ladder, week after week. Actually, I have no idea what I’m doing, but the beautiful thing about TV series is that you never know when they’ll start sucking. So anytime now Log Horizon. Anytime now Coppelion. I won’t say anything about Golden Time because that anime is on my team, but those three anime seem to be dominating the tournament at the moment. According to MAL, of course. But why these three? Take, for example, Log Horizon. Are people watching Log Horizon because it’s good or is it because it has SAO written all over it? I DON’T KNOW! Ahh so frustrating. I really want to rank higher lol.

Luckily, MAL provides a set of rules with a list of strategies that we can use in our favor. It gives us a chance to “bend the rules,” in a sense, adding a little more excitement to the game. Actually, it wasn’t long ago that I used a bench swap; swapping Kakumeiki Valvrave, which wasn’t doing so hot (sob), with Gingitsune. Although, I believe it is my second time using that strategy after I substituted Diamond no Ace (which also wasn’t doing so hot) with Nagi no Asukara. The basic goal of the game is to rack up as many points throughout the season. At the end of the season, the one with the most points wins. Depending on how many people watch a show, the most popular series will accumulate the most points every week, so of course you are hoping to recruit what you think will be watched by a lot of people. Though there are certain exceptions. For example, if an anime is too popular or too over-hyped (Kill la Kill, Kyoukai no Kanata), the admins with exclude that series in order to preserve the “balance” and “fairness” of the game. The same goes for children shows, OVA’s, etc. Moreover, the tournament takes place every spring and fall of every year. It is too late to register for this fall, but the next one will be held in spring. It is exclusively for MAL members, so you have to have an account in order to participate. Registration is easy, though, and MAL is a great tool for anyone who watches anime, so you’ve got nothing to lose.

My team:

  1. Gingitsune
  2. Golden Time
  3. Little Busters!: Refrain (sequel)
  4. Magi: The Kingdom of Magic (sequel)
  5. Nagi no Asukara
  6. Diamond no Ace
  7. Kakumeiki Valvrave 2nd Season (sequel)
The anime that are currently active on my team are numbers 1-5. Those highlighted in red are the “bench” anime I am allowed to substitute in , in accordance to the rules. For a full introduction of the rules, click HERE.

As you may have noticed, about half of my list is made up of sequels. I really dropped the ball on that one. Literally. Kuroko’s Basketball is not on my team. What was I thinking? My main reference at the time was ANN’s “Most Anticipated Fall 2013 Anime,” therefore, I may have relied a bit too heavily on it. On the other hand, I am surprised to see Diamond no Ace doing so poorly. Sports anime are usually quite popular. I suppose it’s hard for baseball to stand out when the already beloved basketball anime is airing at the same time. But boy does that leave me in a very low position. Thankfully, I don’t have to keep still and let it happen. In order to get to the top, you really have to do your research . . . which can be fun if you enjoy the competition. Some of the top contenders from these past two tournaments have been: Macurai, fathomlessblue, 5camp (2nd place two times in a row), ardeerd, pietel. They are definitely players to watch out for, but I will do my best. Wish me luck!

**Side note: As I write this, I can’t help but think “Ah what needless ambition.” Lol.

Leave a Reply

